I’m A Freak Baby

Sunday, 24 July 2016, 12:14 | Category : Podcasts
Tags : , , , ,

Take a journey through the British heavy psych and hard rock underground scene 1968-1972 with David Wells, compiler of a new 3 CD box set I’m A Freak Baby. Speaking to Strange Brew host Jason Barnard, David plays highlights from this new collection, balancing the familiar with the obscure.

I'm A Freak Baby

  1. The Pink Fairies – Do It (Single A-side, Polydor, 1971)
  2. Open Mind – Cast a Spell (Single B-side to Magic Potion, Phillips, 1969)
  3. Crushed Butler – My Son’s Alive (Not originally issued, rec 1970)
  4. Factory – Time Machine (Single A-side, Oak, 1971)
  5. The Mickey Finn ‎– Garden Of My Mind (Single A-side, Direction, 1967)
  6. Deep Purple – Fireball (Single A-side, Harvest, 1971)
  7. Iron Claw – Skullcrusher (Not originally issued, rec 1970)
  8. The Taste – Born on the Wrong Side of Time (Single A-side, Polydor, 1969)
  9. Wicked Lady – I’m a Freak (Not originally issued, rec 1972)
  10. Groundhogs – Cherry Red (Split, Liberty, 1971)
  11. Charge – Rock My Soul (Charge, SRT, 1973)
  12. Fleetwood Mac – Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown) (Single A-side. Reprise, 1970)

Where tracks were not originally issued they are now available on I’m A Freak Baby: A Journey Through The British Heavy & Psych Hard Rock Underground Scene 1968-72 (Grapefruit, 2016)

Uncover Alexis Petridis’s (The Guardian) album of the week, a set ‘that perfectly captures its era‘.

Leave a comment