Eric Stewart Part 2

Sunday, 17 September 2017, 13:07 | Category : Podcasts
Tags : , ,

To tie in with the release of Eric Stewart’s autobiography ‘The Things I Do For Love’ and the Eric Stewart Anthology, Eric talks to Jason Barnard in the final part of two podcasts covering his remarkable career.

Eric Stewart, 10cc

  1. Eric Stewart – The Ritual (Parts 1 – 3) (Frooty Rooties, Mercury, 1982)
  2. 10cc – I’m Mandy Fly Me (Single A-side, Mercury, 1976)
  3. 10cc – The Things We Do For Love (Single A-side, Mercury, 1976)
  4. 10cc – Dreadlock Holiday (Single A-side, Mercury, 1978)
  5. Eric Stewart – Girls (Girls, Polydor, 1980)
  6. 10cc – Les Nouveaux Riches (Ten Out Of 10, Mercury, 1981)
  7. Paul McCartney – Tug Of War (Tug Of War, Parlophone, 1982)
  8. Paul McCartney – Footprints (Press To Play, Parlophone, 1986)
  9. 10cc – Yvonne’s The One (Mirror Mirror, Avex UK, 1995)
  10. Eric Stewart – More And More Each Day (Do Not Bend, Strawberry Soundtracks, 2003)
  11. Eric Stewart – We’re Not Alone (Viva La Difference, Strawberry Soundtracks, 2009)

Part 2 takes us from the second chapter of 10cc, Eric’s work with Paul McCartney and his solo years.

Georgie Fame – The Complete 1967 Recordings

Sunday, 17 September 2017, 11:42 | Category : Reviews
Tags :

Out now on RPM Cherry Red, this new double cd set captures the complete 1967 recordings of Georgie Fame at the apex of his popular success. As a new signing for the CBS, the label was determined to embed his solo stardom, leading to pressure to keep the hits coming which, at times, rubbed against his R’n’B roots.

The core of this set is stereo and mono versions ‘The two faces of Fame’ album released in July 1967.  Side one is drawn from his March 1967 Royal Festival Hall concert, a show which was acclaimed at the time with Fame and his band running through superb set of R’n’B tracks predominately popularised by Ray Charles and Percy Mayfield. It’s a huge shame that a venue better suited for classical music brought with it technical problems and much of concert was deemed unusable and has since been lost.

The second half of the LP was therefore studio based, with the core of these tracks recorded in an April Jazz quartet session. From Ray Charles on side one he turns to Chet Baker for inspirations with tracks like ‘You’re Driving Me Crazy’ showing Georgie could more than hold his own against these American standards.

There’s many bonus tracks to dig into, a mix of poppier tracks and rarities with much to admire. His first CBS single ‘Because I Love You’ and its b-side ‘Bidin’ My Time’ successfully enthused a commercial edge with R’n’B – testament to his songwriting skills on both sides of the 7 incher.

Whilst the CBS driven chart topper ‘The Ballad of Bonnie And Clyde’ dominates attention the lesser known tracks and rarities have aged much better. The self-written soul of ‘All I’m Asking’ shows a much more sophisticated side whilst the unreleased material is full of surprises. Highlights include some choice covers – John Sebastian’s ‘Respoken’, Procol Harum’s then unreleased ‘Conquistador’ and his haunting rendition of Aaron Neville’s ‘Tell It Like It Is’.

So this new 1967 set not only shows the two sides of Fame, but the many sides of Fame:

The Chemistry Set – Lovely Cuppa Tea

Saturday, 16 September 2017, 20:15 | Category : Articles, Interview
Tags : ,

The Chemistry Set are one of the best British psychedelic bands of the modern era. Taking the 60s sound as a starting point, this duo’s range of influences ensures that their feet are firmly planted in the now. 

As they release another superb vinyl offering, Jason Barnard talks to the band – Dave McLean and Paul Lake:

The Dials Interview – That Was The Future

Sunday, 3 September 2017, 12:30 | Category : Articles
Tags :

By Jason Barnard

There’s much to delight fans of anglophile psych and early prog in The Dials new album ‘That was the Future’. Strong hooks, Hammond and Vox organs, modular synths and swirling guitar abound, however their inventiveness clearly show they are not retro revivalists. The Dials

The Dials – photo by Pat Pope

If you’re not familiar with this Brighton band now is the time to hop on board:

Eric Stewart Part 1

Tuesday, 29 August 2017, 19:17 | Category : Podcasts
Tags : , , ,

To tie in with the release of Eric Stewart’s autobiography ‘The Things I Do For Love’ and the Eric Stewart Anthology, Eric talks to Jason Barnard in the first of two podcasts covering his remarkable career.Eric Stewart, 10cc

  1. Eric Stewart – Night And Day (Frooty Rooties, Mercury, 1982)
  2. Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders – The Game of Love (Single A-side, Fontana, 1965)
  3. The Mindbenders – Groovy Kind of Love (Single A-side, Fontana, 1965)
  4. The Mindbenders – It’s Getting Harder All The Time (To Sir, With Love Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, Fontana, 1967)
  5. The Mindbenders – Schoolgirl (Single A-side, Fontana, 1967)
  6. Hotlegs – Neanderthal Man (Single A-side, Philips, 1970)
  7. Hotlegs – How Many Times (Thinks: School Stinks, Philips, 1971)
  8. 10cc – Donna (Single A-side, Decca, 1972)
  9. 10cc – Waterfall (Single B-side to Rubber Bullets, UK Records, 1973)
  10. 10cc – Fresh Air For My Mama (10cc, UK Records, 1973)
  11. 10cc – Wall Street Shuffle (Single A-side, UK Records, 1974)
  12. 10cc – Worst Band In The World (Sheet Music, UK Records, 1974)
  13. 10cc – I’m Not In Love (Single A-side, Mercury, 1975)

Part 1 takes us from Eric’s time in The Mindbenders, Hotlegs and the Godley and Creme years of 10cc.


Tuesday, 29 August 2017, 15:32 | Category : Interview
Tags :

Back in 1999, Cousteau released one of the great tracks of the era in “The Last Good Day of the Year”, leading to a worldwide hit and succession of high quality albums. In recent years founder members Liam McKahey and Davey Ray Moor reformed as CousteauX, with their new EP and album more than matching their earlier work. CousteauX

Jason Barnard speaks to Davey, the duo’s songwriter and multi-instrumentalist as they embark on the next chapter of their musical journey: